Related Pages
Photo Albums

Downtown Waterloo Rotary Club

2019 Athletic Awards

     Since 1946 the Waterloo Rotary Club has enjoyed the honor each year to celebrate outstanding performance by high school athletes in the city of Waterloo and surrounding areas. Football coaching staffs at each school in the city nominate a senior MVP from their team. In a secret ballot, area sportswriters make the citywide selection. The winner receives the Glen "Doc" Miller traveling trophy as top player in his sport. The winner is entitled to display the trophy at his school for the next twelve months.


Glen "Doc" Miller Most Valuable Football Player

Ray Seidel, Columbus High School


This regulation-size gold football, mounted on a base, is a travelling trophy given each year by the Downtown Waterloo Rotary to the outstanding player in football in the Waterloo Schools. It is given in memory of an outstanding Rotarian, Glen "Doc" Miller, a great athlete and president of the Waterloo Rotary Club in 1954. "Doc" was captain of the University of Iowa football team in 1923, and a player on the great Iowa teams of 1921-22 which beat Yale.

     Awards are presented at a luncheon attended by Rotarians, the senior players from each of the area teams, their coaches, parents, and honored guests. Scroll down to see pictures of the MVP picks from each school.


73rd Annual Waterloo Rotary Club Football Recognition Luncheon

Presented November 18th, 2019

Honored Guests

Dr. Jane Lindaman, Superintendent of Schools

Dan Huff, District Athletic Director

Columbus Catholic High School - Tom Novotney, Chief Administrator - Daniel Thole, Principal - Taylor Hotek, Activity Coordinator
East High School - Joseph Parker, Principal - Brenton Shavers, Athletic Director - Marla Padget
West High School - Andy Miehe, Principal - Dr. Anthony Pappas, Athletic Director

2019 MVP Football Selections


Ray Seidel, Columbus High School - Dylan Reyes, East High School - Mondre Lagow, West High School

2019 Keynote Speaker - Robert L. Smith, Jr.
-Executive Director UNI-CUE
-Former Iowa Hawkeye for Coach Hayden Fry
-BCS and Big 10 Football Game Official




Columbus High School

Cannon Butler, Cody Hellman, Ray Seidel,
            Mitchell Carpenter, Jordan Newton, Ben Sinnott,
Braydon Cole, Kobe Nobis, Caleb Vesely,
Ben Dalrymple, Aidan Schmitz
Head Coach: Brad Schmit
Assistant Coaches: Eddie Fischer, Mitch Rahm, Jay Schmit, Jake Van Beisen, Jeff Westhoff

East High School

Dakota Albright, Javontez Jefferson-Sisk, Qualen Scott,
Sage Cunningham, Lakely Martin, Tamarius Smart,
Aidan Ernst, Ahkil Muhammad, Avarious Stanberry,
Alexander Glover, Tyrell Newman, Ta’Darius Sykes,
Jacob Hanley, Traer Owens, Aterryon Williams,
Deion Hicks, Dylan Reyes, Christian Zearing

Head Coach: Xavier Leonard
Assistant Coaches:  Regis Baskerville, Terrance Freeney, Juan Martinez,
Dan Mast, Edward Matlock, Corey Muhammad, Aaron Taylor, Wilmot Wellington

West High School

Nathan Bauler, Mondre Lagow, Adnan Rizvanovic,
            Javarious Burris, Eddie Lanier, Adis Sabic,
            Marteus Denton, Kyler Lyons, Isaac Tolbert,
            Dylan Heiselman, Carter Maske, Mason Tomlinson,
            Renajid Kajtezovic, Kaiden Peverill, Dequavian Walker,
            Mitch Kayser, Malik Prince, Jonathan Wion, Armin Kuljuhovic
Head Coach: Lonnie Moore
Assistant Coaches: Joe Davis, Matt Grimm, Eric Harbaugh,
Will Harbert, Levi Lenius, David Milder,
Tyler Morehead, DeAngelo Newman, Stewart Rickert,
Nick Roe, Ben Russell, Ben Thoma


Special thanks to the 2019 Rotary Football Committee: Rick Morris, Kevin Sonnenberg and John Mallen.  

Thanks Mason Fromm for photography and webpage.